The Bath Novel Award 2019

2nd June 2019

Who may enter
The Bath Novel Award is a prize for unpublished, self-published or independently published novelists.

Writers who have accepted a traditional publishing deal for a novel are not eligible. For the purposes of this competition, a “traditional publishing deal” is defined as an offer of publication which includes an advance payment.

The competition is organized by Caroline Ambrose a Bath-based book columnist, public libraries campaigner, & regular chair for literary events.

Novels can be in any genre written for adult or young adult (13+) readers. Novels must be your original work and in English.

Submissions should include (up to) the first 5,000 words of your novel plus one page synopsis.

The longlist will be announced at on June 21st with longlisted writers invited to submit their full manuscript no later than June 30th for the final judging stages. Full novels should be at least 50,000 words in length.

The judge is Hellie Ogden.

Entry fees
The entry fee is £25 per novel.

The winner of The Bath Novel Award 2019 will receive £2,500.

Please visit to learn more about the competition.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s