10 interesting facts about Rushmore Mountain (South Dakota, USA)

1. Mount Rushmore is a national monument located in the US state of South Dakota.
2. The monument represents 150 years of American history.
3. It is carved in rock. It was made as a monumental granite sculpture of Chapter 4 US Presidents: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln.
4. The head sculptures are 18 m high and measuring 5.17 m².
5. During the construction of this sculpture, no construction worker was killed.
6. The sculpture was built for 14 years.
7. The name of Mount Rushmore derives from Justice Charles E. Rushmore, during his 1885 expedition. The Lakota Sioux Indians called the Mountain Six Grandfathers.
8. The Six Grandfathers Mountain was part of the route by which the Lakota Sioux leader Black Elk led a kind of pilgrimage, culminating in Harney Peak.
9. 400 workers worked on the construction of the sculpture.
10. The conceptual sculptor Gutzon Borglum selected these 4 US presidents for their role in preserving the Republic and expanding its territory.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s