Book of Changes even published in the late 9th century BC is still an ancient inspiration

The Book of Changes or Yi Jing is the source of Confucianism and Taoism. This book is one of the first attempts of the human mind to find its place in the universe. This book has permeated Chinese culture from the ground up for almost 3,000 years. Recently, interest in the book “Book of Changes” is spreading in the West. The Western view is based on a logical and mental approach. However, the advice from the book “I Ching” or Yi Jing explains that there is an inner truth in people that helps solve all important life issues and dilemmas. That is why the Book of Changes is a book of wisdom and an advisor on how people should think about themselves and the world. The book is a universal guide to everyday life whose advice reflects the wisdom of the cosmic order and the laws of change. The book sometimes warns of insurmountable obstacles. He then advises giving up. The decision is made by us – once a person decides there is no more giving up because the event ceases to be under the control of that person. Change arises from the interplay of aspects (Yin and Yang principles). Combinations of hexagrams are created by mixing yin and yang with different scales. 64 hexagrams give 4096 answers. Hexagrams symbolize the whole sequence of changes that everything in the universe goes through in continuous cycles (from the micro universe to the macro universe). People can predict the sequence of events and people can even influence events by linking “human action” to parts of that cycle. The Book of Changes has an incredible popularity in the world that does not abate due to the simple principle on which the book is based. Respecting their own positive qualities, people achieve the greatest wealth of life, well-being, understanding and peace. The ambiguity of the title of the book is reflected in the meaning of the ideogram – which is also a sign for a chameleon (an animal that constantly changes color in accordance with the environment). “Ching” is a sign for the basis of weaving – the main thread around which the entire manifestation with multiple intertwining takes place.
The Book of Changes changed the lives of many sages (Confucius) and influenced many philosophers. Although “I Ching” was an ordinary book, it influenced and shaped the education and teachings of the Chinese sage Confucius. It is considered the fundamental text of Chinese wisdom and philosophy. The book has survived for thousands of years but in various forms. The book generally stands out with its unique approach problem and solutions hidden deep in people. The solutions are visible, says the book “I Ching”, only as a result of a harmonious game of yin and yang.
The Book of Changes is more than just a book on a deeper level. It is a prophecy that lives and breathes and a patient and all-seeing teacher we can rely on for impeccable counsel at every turning point in our lives. Those who approach “I Ching” sincerely and consult with him regularly and apply what they learn in everyday life will inevitably experience the greatest riches that life has to offer: well-being, understanding and inner peace. The Book of Changes does not address abstract and vain advice but direct advice on what to do now, in this situation, to achieve success and happiness. That is why it is still relevant today, thousands of years and thousands of kilometers away from its place of origin.
! I Ching ”has a very realistic view of the world. It does not lead us to the erroneous conclusion that evil — in us, in other people, in the whole world — can be eradicated once and for all. It confirms that we all have elements of good and evil in our personality. It teaches us that we should be guided by sublime qualities so that our thoughts and actions are free from negative influence. It also teaches us how to react to negative influences around us so we can avoid trouble and lead a healthy life.
The qualities that Book of Changes advises us to apply are: humility, awareness, acceptance, adaptability, compassion, discipline, incorruptibility, perseverance, patience, restraint, commitment to inner truth, patience, openness, objectivity, conscientiousness, balance, and inner independence. The Book of Changes encourages people to get rid of fear, anger, longing, arrogance, aggression, anxiety, cruelty, cunning goal orientation and indulgence. For now, these are just words. Only when we begin to follow the instructions in the Book of Changes will we begin to understand their meaning.
Book of Changes does not ask people to be rich, smart or beautiful in order to understand its meaning. She only asks us to “meet her”. This means that we need to approach the Book of Changes sincerely, put aside doubt and distrust of the Unknown, be willing to think clearly about our own personality and correct it when advised. No matter how hopeless your current situation may seem, if you adhere to the above – you will be accompanied by the happiness that befalls the dedicated students of the Book of Changes. In this book the words “Sage”, “Creative Power”, “Higher Power” etc. will be mentioned. In your mind the equivalent of these words may be “God”, “Allah”, “Universe”, or some other term, etc. Feel free to insert the word or the phrase that suits you best.
I Ching or Yi Jing is usually translated as Book of Changes or Classic of Changes.

Original title易 *lek 
CountryZhou dynasty (China)
PublishedLate 9th century BC

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s